On Sunday, March 4th, between periods of the AHL’s Providence Bruins vs Springfield Thuderbirds game at the Dunkin’ Donuts Center in Providence, the Rhode Island Hockey Hall of Fame and the Providence Bruins formally unveiled the names and official portraits of 16 Rhode Island hockey greats who will be enshrined in its charter class on September 20th at the Twin River Event Center in Lincoln.

With 8,581 fans in attendance, the roll call of what might rightly be considered the ‘Mount Rushmore’ of Rhode Island hockey was read as their names and official induction portraits were brilliantly displayed on the stadium scoreboard.

The names of honorees were revealed in alpabetical order, each name echoing a chapter in RI’s rich hockey history and receiving admiring and thankful applause from young and old, alike:


-USA Hockey Hall of Famer, Bill Belisle

-AHL Hall of Famer, Harvey Bennett, Sr.

-RI’s first home-grown NHL player, Curt Bennett

-1997 NHL Rookie of the Year, Bryan Berard

-16-year NHL defensive star, Keith Carney

-USA Hockey Hall of Famer, Joseph Cavanagh

-Olympic Gold Medalist, Sara DeCosta-Hayes

-International Hockey Hall of Famer, Cammi Granato

-International Hockey Hall of Famer, Lou Lamoriello

-First American selected as the NHL’s #1 draft pick, Brian Lawton

-AHL Hall of Famer, Louis A.R. Pieri

-USA Hockey Hall of Famer, Dick Rondeau

-USA Hockey Hall of Famer, Mathieu Schneider

-2-time Stanley Cup Champion, Chris Terreri

-AHL Hall of Famer, Zellio Toppazzini…and

-USA Hockey Hall of Famer, Ron Wilson

Tickets for the September 20th Enshrinement Celebration & Dinner at the Twin River Event Center in Lincoln, RI are on sale now on the INDUCTION EVENT page of this website and at Eventbrite.com.