Inducted into the RI Heritage Hall of Fame in 1986
Inducted into the Mount St Charles Hall of Fame in 2012
Brother Adelard, born in 1884, arrived in RI from Quebec in 1911. One year later, he organized his first hockey team at Sacred Heart Academy in Central Falls.
In 1924, he was assigned to Mount Saint Charles Academy where he would remain for 30 years. He coached the 1926, 1927, 1928, and 1940 hockey teams. From 1929 to the mid ’50s Brother Adelard held the position of Director of Hockey at the Mount.
He had a passion for developing winning teams. His “Flying Frenchmen” captured 10 State Championships, three New England Championships, and three National Crowns.
But it wasn’t all high school hockey.
During a period when the Mount’s hockey operations were suspended for a few seasons, his “Flying Frenchmen,” some of them future professionals, competed against all comers on New England’s amateur circuit.
In 1959, the Providence Reds of the American Hockey League held a Diamond Jubilee Celebration in honor of Brother Adelard for his contributions to hockey.
In 1963, local sports writers dubbed Mount’s new hockey rink the Brother Adelard Arena in recognition of his tremendous positive influence on the rich history of Rhode Island and Mount schoolboy hockey.
He was inducted into the Rhode Island Heritage Hall of Fame in 1986 and the Mount St Charles Hall of Fame in 2012.
His 100th birthday in 1984 was proclaimed Brother Adelard Day throughout Rhode Island. He received letters from President Reagan and Bobby Orr, as well as plaques from Pope John Paul II and Jean Beliveau, patron saint of the Montreal Canadiens.
Brother Adelard Beaudet passed away in 1990 at age 106.